Pokemon Legends: Arceus Fan Points Out Interesting Detail About Basculegion

One Pokemon Legends: Arceus fan discovers a rather interesting fact about the new evolved form of Basculin, Basculegion.

Pokemon Legends: Arceus is set to launch next month, giving Pokemon trainers the chance to explore the Hisui region and experience a new kind of main series Pokemon game. Like other main series Pokemon games, Pokemon Legends: Arceus includes some brand new Pokemon for players to catch and add to their team of monsters, with one such new Pokemon being the evolved form of Basculin, Basculegion.

Basculegion has a rather dark backstory in Pokemon Legends: Arceus. In order for a Basculin to evolve into a Basculegion, it has to be possessed by the souls of dead Basculin that failed to survive the journey upstream. It’s notable for incredible physical prowess and should make a rather interesting addition to the franchise. However, there’s another interesting detail about Basculegion that Pokemon fans may be curious to learn about.


As discovered by Reddit user L285, Basculegion is the first Pokemon in the history of the franchise to have all five vowels in its English name. It has A, E, I, O, and U in its name, which is something completely unique to Basculegion in the Pokemon series. This doesn’t count Mega Evolutions or regional variants like Alolan, Galarian, or Hisuian Pokemon, as those qualifiers aren’t technically part of the Pokemon’s name anyway.

L285 discovered some other interesting details about Pokemon and vowels in their name, pointing out how there are 36 Pokemon that manage to have four vowels in their name. While it seems like it would be a tedious task to go through all of the Pokemon names and count the vowels, L285 says that they wrote code to go through all of the Pokemon names and count the vowels for them to make this discovery about Basculegion.

Basculegion isn’t the only new Pokemon set to make their debut in Pokemon Legends: Arceus next month. Along with Hisuian variants of existing Pokemon, Pokemon Legends: Arceus will feature brand new creatures like Wyrdeer, a new evolved form of Stantler, as well as Kleavor, a new evolved form of Scyther. Kleavor is a Noble Pokemon, which essentially translates to a boss fight in Pokemon Legends: Arceus, though it has yet to be clarified if Basculegion and Wyrdeer are considered Noble Pokemon as well.

There’s still a lot that Nintendo has not revealed about Pokemon Legends: Arceus, and it’s possible that fans may have to wait until launch to learn more. Luckily, the Pokemon Legends: Arceus release date is right around the corner, so fans don’t have to wait all that much longer.

Pokemon Legends: Arceus launches January 28, exclusively for the Nintendo Switch.

Source: Gamerant

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe To Newsletter
Be the first to get latest updates and exclusive content straight to your email inbox.
Stay Updated
Give it a try, you can unsubscribe anytime.