Demon Slayer Game DLC Characters Revealed

Anime fighting game Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba – The Hinokami Chronicles delivered exactly what fans of the Demon Slayer manga and anime were hoping for when it launched in October 2021. It’s directly adapted from the first season of the Demon Slayer anime, including its single-player story mode, and has a solid roster filled with the anime’s most popular characters. There’s always room for more characters in a fighting game’s roster, though, so Sega’s happy to announce seven more DLC characters for Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba – The Hinokami Chronicles arriving later this year.


The announcement was made in the latest issue of the weekly Japanese manga serial Weekly Jump. Seven characters are planned to be added to Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba – The Hinokami Chronicles‘ Versus Mode roster, with the first character packs arriving this summer. The cadence of releases isn’t clear, but Demon Slayer fans should expect them to be rolled out aggressively.

As for what seven Demon Slayer characters will be added to the game, they are Tengen Uzui, Daki, Gyutaro, the Awakened Form of Nezuko Kamado, and then the Entertainment District Arc’s Tanjiro Kamado, Zenitsu Agatsuma, and Inosuke Hashibira. The Entertainment District Arc sees Tanjiro, Zenitsu, and Inosuke cross-dressing to try and hunt down a demon among the district’s courtesans. These seem like more of a cosmetic than a concept for entirely new characters, but developer CyberConnect2 must have an idea for them.

tanjiro and friends cross-dressing

To be fair the CyberConnect2, making a Demon Slayer fighting game is no easy thing. Given the short length of the anime, at least compared to other long-running shonen, the roster is limited. Though if Dragon Ball FighterZ can have half a dozen Gokus, then an alternate Tanjiro should be fine, too.

These seven newly announced characters for Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba – The Hinokami Chronicles won’t be the fighting game’s first DLC additions, of course. Rui, Akaza, Yahaba, Susamaru, Enmu, and Yushiro & Tamayo have all already been released. These six characters all arrived in 2021, though, so Demon Slayer fans are likely anxious to receive the new characters after what will have been half a year of waiting.

Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba – The Hinokami Chronicles may not have the prestige of other fighting games, but it does deliver what fans want. It provides an opportunity to play through anime experiences like Demon Slayer in video game format, providing a roster of playable characters that fans adore. Here’s hoping the new Demon Slayer DLC characters are exactly what some fans have been waiting for.

Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba – The Hinokami Chronicles is available now on PC, PS4, PS5, Xbox One, and Xbox Series X/S, with a Switch release arriving June 10.

Source: Gematsu

Source: Gamerant

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe To Newsletter
Be the first to get latest updates and exclusive content straight to your email inbox.
Stay Updated
Give it a try, you can unsubscribe anytime.